The European advanced translational research infrastructure in medicine

Activity Code: INFRA-2007-2.2-01
Coordinator: Prof. Dr Rudi Balling, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research



Efficient translation of research discoveries into industrial application is an essential element to maintain Europe s competitiveness in the biomedical and health industry. The main bottleneck is the lack and the fragmented nature of essential research infrastructure and know-how, leading to unacceptable delays and/or preventing the development of new innovative medicines. The aim of EATRIS is to fill this gap by developing a European Advanced Translation Research InfraStructure consisting of key preclinical and clinical components necessary to support the development of new diagnostic or therapeutic strategies at all stages of the biomedical R&D-process.

EATRIS will operate through a network of biomedical translation research centres across Europe which will provide user access to: State of the art animal facilities for preclinical proof of principle and proof of concept studies Small molecule screening facilities to identify and characterize new drug targets High-resolution imaging facilities for preclinical and clinical validation Disease-specific patient and population cohorts to develop and validate new innovative diagnostic and therapeutic strategies Centralized GMP facilities for bioprocess development and manufacturing Facilities for Clinical Phase I studies.


Project Details:

Start Date: 01.01.2008
End Date: 31.12.2010
EU Contribution: 4.2 Mio. Euro
Total Costs: 5.48 Mio. Euro
Funding Scheme: Integrating activities / e-infrastructures / preparatory phase
Administrative Contact Person: Michael Strätz, Michael.Straetz(at)
Scientific Coordinator:
Prof. Dr. Rudi Balling, balling(at)
Project Website:



  • Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Germany
  • Vetenskapsradet - Swedish research Council, Sweden
  • Kobenhavns Universitet, Denmark
  • Helsingen Yliopisto, Finland
  • Fundacio Institut de Recerca de l'Hospital Universitari Vall d'Hebron, Spain
  • Ministero del Lavoro della Salute e delle Politiche Sociali, Italy
  • Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France
  • Universitetet i Oslo, Norway
  • Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Spain
  • Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum, Germany
  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Germany
  • Medical Research Council, United Kingdom
  • Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
  • The Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development, Netherlands
  • Center for Translational Molecular Medicine CTMM, Netherlands
  • Stockholms Laens Landsting, Sweden
  • Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur, Germany
  • Hermann von Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren eV, Germany
  • Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, United Kingdom
  • Istituto Superiore di Santa, Italy


Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen

Wir setzen Cookies ein, die für das Funktionieren unserer Webseite notwendig sind. Mit Ihrer Zustimmung verwenden wir zudem Cookies zur Nutzungsanalyse. Sie können jederzeit Ihre Einwilligung widerrufen und Cookies deaktivieren. Weitere Informationen hierzu erhalten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ich bin mit dem Einsatz von Cookies zur Nutzungsanalyse einverstanden.