Jump directly to the page contents


The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the highest honour awarded in German research.

[Translate to Englisch:] Leibniz-Preisträger Rolf Müller (HIPS, Bild: HIPS/Oliver Dietze) und Veronika Eyring (DLR, Bild: DLR).

Preisträger 2021: Veronika Eyring (DLR) und Rolf Müller (HIPS)

Die Physikerin Veronika Eyring vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der Pharmazeut Rolf Müller vom Helmholtz-Institut für Pharmazeutische Forschung Saarland (HIPS) wurden mit dem wichtigsten Forschungsförderpreis in Deutschland ausgezeichnet. Sie erhalten den mit 2,5 Millionen Euro dotierten Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

Portrait Veronika Eyring

Portrait Rolf Müller

Pressemitteilung des DLR

Pressemitteilung des HIPS

Preisträger 2021

Prof. Dr. Eicke Latz. Picture: Barbara Frommann/University of Bonn

Leibniz Prize 2018 to Eicke Latz

Eicke Latz, director of the Institute of Innate Immunity at the University of Bonn and scientist at the DZNE will be awarded the "Leibniz Prize”. Eicke Latz will share the Leibniz Prize with Munich immunologist Veit Hornung. These scientists are among the world’s most influential researchers in the field of innate immune responses.

Leibniz Prize to Eicke Latz (DZNE)

[Translate to Englisch:] Bild: KIT

Preisträgerin 2017: Britta Nestler

Die Materialwissenschaftlerin Britta Nestler forscht und lehrt seit 2010 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) am Institut für Angewandte Materialien. Sie zählt zu den weltweit führenden Köpfen in der Materialforschung, die vor allem durch die Anwendung von Supercomputern neue Impulse für den Forschungsbereich liefert. Kristalle aus dem Computer

Picture: Helmholtz

Leibniz Prize 2017 to Jörg Vogel

Awarding the Leibniz Prize to Jörg Vogel recognises one of the world’s leading researchers in the field of ribonucleic acid biology. He was selected for his pioneering contributions to our understanding of regulatory RNA molecules in infection biology.

Leibniz Prize to Jörg Vogel

Photo: DZNE

Leibniz Prize 2016 to Frank Bradke

The molecular biologist Frank Bradke (46), group leader at the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE) and professor for neurobiology at the University of Bonn, is awarded the "Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize" 2016. The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) thereby honors his research on the growth and regeneration of neurons. Through his research Bradke aims to lay the basis for novel therapies, especially for the treatment of spinal cord injuries.

Leibniz Prize to Frank Bradke (DZNE)

Photo: DESY

Leibniz-Prize 2015 to Henry Chapman

DESY scientist Professor Henry Chapman has been awarded withe the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes 2015 by the German research foundation Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Henry Chapman receives the 2.5-Million-Euro prize for his pioneering work in the development of femtosecond crystallography. It allows to decode the structure of complex biomolecules in its natural environment at the atomic level with the help of X-ray lasers.

Leibniz Prize for DESY scientist Henry Chapman

Rainer Waser. Photo: FZJ

Leibniz-Prize 2014 to Rainer Waser

The Jülich researcher Rainer Waser has been awarded the 2014 Leibniz Prize. Nanoelectronic components, electrochemical energy conversion and innovative sensors - these are only a few of the topics Waser and his colleagues investigate. The 58-year-old natural scientist and engineer is Director of the Peter Grünberg Institute at the Forschungszentrum Jülich research centre, a member of the Helmholtz Association, and also holds a chair at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at the RWTH Aachen University.

Rainer Waser Awarded Leibniz Prize


Communications and External Affairs

Helmholtz Head Office

As curious as we are? Discover more.