Jump directly to the page contents

Helmholtz Association Research Awards

Nobel Prizes in the Helmholtz Association

Two Nobel Prizes have been awarded to Helmholtz-researchers so far. The Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Stefan Hell, the Nobel Prize in Medicine 2008 to Harald zur Hausen and the Nobel Prize in Physics 2007 to Peter Grünberg.

Learn more

Leibniz Prize

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the most important research award in Germany. A maximum of €2.5 million is provided per award. Prizewinners are first chosen from a slate of nominations put forward by third parties; the final selection is made by the Joint Committee on the basis of a recommendation from the Leibniz Nominations Committee.

Learn more

Erwin Schrödinger Prize

The Stifterverband Science Award – Erwin Schrödinger Prize recognises outstanding scientific achievements and technological innovations at the interface between various disciplines in medicine, the natural sciences and engineering. The work must involve representatives of at least two disciplines.

Learn more


Martina Carnott

Initiative and Networking Fund: Administration, scientific awards
Helmholtz Association

As curious as we are? Discover more.