Jump directly to the page contents

Nobel Prizes in the Helmholtz-Association

Since the formation of the Helmholtz Association three scientists have received Nobel Prizes.

Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2014

Stefan Hell, director of the Max-Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen and department head at the DKFZ, has been awarded the 2014´s Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his pioneering work in the field of ultra high resolution fluorescence microscopy.

Press Release 8.10.2014 'Nobel prize in Cehmistry awarded to Stefan Hell'

Chemienobelpreisträger Stefan Hell. Bild: Bernd Schuller/MPI für biophysikalische Chemie

Nobel Prize for Medicine 2008

Harald zur Hausen was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2008. Professor zur Hausen investigated at the Helmholtz Association’s German Cancer Research Center how cervical cancer is caused by viral infections. His research led to the development of a vaccine against the third most common cancer in women. Zur Hausen has been awarded one half of the Nobel Prize, with the other half going to Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier for their discovery of HIV, the virus that causes AIDS.

Press Release 6.10.2008 'Nobel Prize for Medicine Awarded to Harald zur Hausen'

Medizinnobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Dr. Harald zur Hausen. Bild: DKFZ

Nobel Prize in Physics 2007

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2007 was awarded to the German solid state physicist Peter Grünberg from the Helmholtz Research Centre in Jülich. Grünberg shares the award with his colleague Albert Fert (Paris-Sud University) for the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance. In 1988, both scientists discovered this physical effect independently of each other.

Video Peter Grünberg lecture 8.12.2007

Audio Interview with Peter Grünberg and Albert Fert 6.12.2007 (in German)

Physiknobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Peter Grünberg. Bild: Forschungszentrum Jülich


Communications and External Affairs

Helmholtz Head Office

As curious as we are? Discover more.