Jump directly to the page contents

Researchers at the Helmholtz centers and partner institutions are pooling their expertise to decipher the structure of the coronavirus and its infection pathways, to look at models for the course of the pandemic, and to develop effective drugs as well as vaccines and protective measures.

It is in line with our self-image that we make the knowledge we have acquired in recent months available to society in a compact and generally understandable form. After all, sound knowledge of the essential interrelationships among every single citizen and decision-makers in politics and administration is a key to coping with the pandemic. With the FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) listed here, we aim to provide fact-based information to provide clarity and guidance and to help frame current debates. 

The answers to pressing questions about the coronavirus have been written by an interdisciplinary group of experts from the Helmholtz Association and selected partners who bring expertise in socio-economic and psychological issues in the context of pandemic response. We do not claim that this scientific preparation is exhaustive. 

Questions and Answers (FAQ) - Status: February 24, 2021


Prof. Dr. Katrin Amunts is Director of the Institute for Neuroscience and Medicine at the Forschungszentrum Jülich FZJ and Director of the Cécile and Oskar Vogt Institute for Brain Research at the Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf.

Prof. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager is head of the research group "Viral Hepatitides and Liver Cancer" at the German Cancer Research Center in the Helmholtz Association DKFZ and head of the department "Molecular Virology" at the Center for Infectiology at Heidelberg University Hospital

Prof. Dr. Melanie Brinkmann is the head of the junior research group "Viral Immunomodulation" at the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research HZI in Braunschweig and professor at the Institute of Genetics at the Technical University of Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Cas Cremers is a faculty member at the CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security and Professor of Computer Science at Saarland University in Saarbrücken.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Clemens Fuest is President of the ifo Institute - Leibniz Institute for Economic Research and Professor of Economics "National Economy and Finance" at LMU Munich

Prof. Dr. Dr. Uwe Hampel is head of the department "Experimental Thermofluiddynamics" at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf HZDR and professor for imaging measurement methods for energy and process engineering at the Institute for Energy Technology at the TU Dresden.

Prof. Dr. Dirk Heinz is Scientific Director of the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research HZI, Professor of Structural Biology at the Technical University of Braunschweig and Helmholtz Vice President for the Research Field Health. 

Prof. Dr. Michael Hölscher is the head of the Department of Infection and Tropical Medicine at LMU Munich.

Prof. Dr. Gérard Krause is Head of the Department of Epidemiology at the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research in Braunschweig and Chair at the Hannover Medical School

Prof. Dr. Michael Meyer-Hermann is head of the department "Systems Immunology" at the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research HZI in Braunschweig in a co-appointment with the TU Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Andreas Meyer-Lindenberg is Director of the Central Institute of Mental Health in Mannheim and Professor of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the University of Heidelberg. 

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Protzer is Director of the Institute of Virology at the Helmholtz Zentrum München German Research Center for Environmental Health HMGU and Head of the Institute of Virology at the Technical University of Munich

Prof. Dr. Harald Prüß heads the working group "Autoimmune Encephalopathies" of the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases DZNE and the Charité in Berlin. 

Prof. Dr. Andreas Schröder conducts research in the Experimental Methods Department at the Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology of the German Aerospace Center DLR and holds the chair "Imaging Measurement Methods" at the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg.  

Prof. Dr. Nora Szech holds the Chair of Political Economy at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology KIT.

Dr. Manfred Weiss heads the research group "Macromolecular Crystallography" at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie HZB

As curious as we are? Discover more.