Jump directly to the page contents

Members of the Senate of the Helmholtz Association

(Status: October 2022)

Elected members:

Prof. Dr. Günter Blöschl
Head of the Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management, Vienna University of Technology, Austria 

Dr. Andrea Grimm
Member of the supervisory boards of IBM Germany and IBM Central Holding

Prof. Dr. Jutta Hanson
Head of the Institute of Electrical Power Systems with Integration of Renewable Energies, TU Darmstadt

Prof. Dr. Sabina Jeschke
Senior Advisor for Digital Transformation, Deloitte GmbH, Former Board Member Deutsche Bahn AG, CEO Arctic Brains AB

Prof. Dr. Rolf-Dieter Heuer
Former Director-General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), Geneva, Switzerland

Dr. Rainer Martens
Former Chairmen of the Supervisory Board and Member of the Executive Board (COO), MTU Aero Engines Holding AG, Munich

Hildegard Müller
President of Verband der Automobilindustrie (VDA), Berlin

Prof. Dr. Dierk Raabe
Executive Director, Max Planck Institute for Iron Research, Düsseldorf

Dr. Jörg Reinhardt
Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Swiss pharmaceutical concern Novartis AG

Prof. Dr. Rita K. Schmutzler
Director at the Center for Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer, University Hospital Cologne

Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth
Director at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mühlheim an der Ruhr

Prof. Dr. Monika Sester
Professor at the Institute of Cartography and Geoinformatics, Leibniz Universität Hannover

Ex officio Senate members:

Stephan Albani 
Representative of the German Bundestag, Berlin

Dr. Holger Becker
Representative of the German Bundestag, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Katja Becker
President of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Bonn

Ina Brandes
Minister of Culture and Science of the German State of North Rhine-Westfalia, Düsseldorf

Prof. Dr. Martina Brockmeier
President of the Leibniz Association, Berlin

Katharina Fegebank
Senator in the Departmental Authority for Science, Research and Gender Equality, Hamburg

Werner Gatzer
State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, Berlin

Michael Kellner
State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Berlin

Bettina Lentz
State Secretary, Ministry for Finance, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Bettina Stark-Watzinger
Federal Minister of Education and Research, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Otmar D. Wiestler
President of the Helmholtz Association, Berlin


Prof. Dr. Peter-André Alt
President of the German Rectors Conference, Bonn

Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, Chairman and Scientific Director of the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)

Franziska Broer
Managing Director of the Helmholtz Association, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Helmut Dosch
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, President of the Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT)

Dr. Sabine Helling-Moegen
Administrative Director of the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE), Bonn

Prof. Dr. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, Chair of the Executive Board, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Cologne

Dr. Bettina Lommel
Chairperson of the Committee of Scientific-technical Councils of the Helmholtz Centres, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung, Darmstadt

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Marquardt
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)

Prof. Dr. Katja Matthes
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, Director of the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer
President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, München

Dr. Simon Plass
Vice-Chairperson of the Committee of Scientific-Technical Councils of the Helmholtz Centres; Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Oberpfaffenhofen

Jan Regler
Representative of the Staff and Works Councils of the Helmholtz-Centres, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung

Dr. Stefan Schwartze
Vice-President of the Helmholtz Association, Administrative Director of the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences

Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann
President of the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of the Sciences, Munich

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Wagner
Chairperson of the German Council of Science and Humanities, Cologne

As curious as we are? Discover more.