Jump directly to the page contents

Assembly of Members

18 Research Centers are members of the Helmholtz Association. The scientific-technical and commercial directors of these centers meet at least once a year for an Assembly of Members.

According to the statutes, the Assembly of Members is the association's central decision-making body, because its sets the framework for the development of strategies and programs which reach across all or some of the association's centers.

In addition, the Assembly of Members has a number of additional areas of responsibility. For example, it

  • Produces a proposal for the presidential election, which is then held in the Senate;
  • submits recommendations to the Senate on the division into research fields;
  • decides on the creation of networks for developing programs  which extend across the association's centres;
  • sets the annual budget for the Helmholtz Association's Head Office, adopts the annual accounts and discharges the President and the Managing Director;
  • and decides on the acceptance of new members.

The President of the Helmholtz Association chairs the Assembly of Members. 

The Assembly of Members has established a committee whose members are the scientific representatives of the Helmholtz Centers. Here you can find more information: WTR-V


  • Alfred-Wegener-Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)
    Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, Director; Dr. Karsten Wurr, Administrative Director
  • CISPA ‒ Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit gGmbH
    Prof. Dr. Michael Backes, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor; Dr. Kevin Streit, Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung
  • Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY
    Prof. Dr. Helmut Dosch, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Christian Harringa, Director of Administration
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)
    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Marquardt, Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors; Karsten Beneke, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors
  • GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
    Prof. Dr. Katja Matthes, Director; Stefan Spiekermann, Administrative Director
  • German Aerospace Center (DLR)
    Prof. Dr. Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, Chair of the Executive Board; Klaus Hamacher, Vice Chair­man of the Executive Board / Deputy Chair
  • German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)
    Prof. Dr. Michael Baumann, Chairman of the Management Board and Scientific Director; Ursula Weyrich, Administrative Director
  • German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE)
    Prof. Dr. Dr. Pierluigi Nicotera, Scientific Director and Chairman of the Executive Board; Dr. Sabine Helling-Moegen, Administrative Director
  • GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung
    Prof. Dr. Paolo Giubellino, Scientific Managing Director - Administrative Managing Director; Dr. Ulrich Breuer, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ
    Prof. Dr. Rolf Altenburger, Scientific Director; Dr. Sabine König, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI)
    Prof. Dr. Dirk Heinz, Scientific Director; Christian Scherf, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ - German Research Centre for Geosciences
    Prof. Dr. Susanne Buiter, Scientific Executive Director; Dr. Stefan Schwartze, Administrative Executive Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB)
    Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech, Scientific Managing Directors; Thomas Frederking, Director Finance and Administration
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
    Prof. Dr. Sebastian M. Schmidt, Scientific Director; Dr. Diana Stiller, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon
    Prof. Dr. Matthias Rehahn, Scientific Director; Dr. Heike Wolke, Administrative Director (interim)
  • Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health
    Prof. Dr. Matthias Tschöp, Scientific Director; Daniela Sommer, Commercial and Technical Director (interim)
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
    Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka, President of KIT and also Chief Information Officer; Administrative Director
  • Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association (MDC)
    Prof. Dr. Maike Sander, Scientific Director; Prof. Dr. Heike Graßmann, Administrative Director

As curious as we are? Discover more.