Jump directly to the page contents

Integrating European research infrastructures for micro-nano fabrication of functional structures and devices out of a knowledge-based multimaterials repertoire

Activity Code: INFRA-2008-1.1.1
Coordinator: Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)


EUMINAfab is the first Pan-European Research Infrastructure for micro and nano fabrication of new, novel and emerging functional materials. It provides access to a unique portfolio of state-of-the-art technologies for structuring and characterisation of a multitude of materials at the micro nano scale. It answers to challenges from global competitors. EUMINAfab coordinates 10 European partners from 8 member states.

The consortium integrates 6 academic institutes and 4 industrial partners. EUMINAfab opens access to 36 installations and estimates over 430 users in 48 month duration. It pursues networking (5 work packages), transnational access (8 work packages) and joint research (3 work packages) and applies for an EC contribution of nearly 6M with total costs of nearly 7.79 M .

EUMINAfab significantly structures the ERA of micro nano manufacturing (European platform MINAM) by implementing and further developing a distributed infrastructure for creating knowledge and enabling scientific breakthroughs, even to next generation products. As such EUMINAfab allows for access of its users from fundamental science to industry-oriented research.

Project Details:

Start Date: 01.03.2009
End Date: 28.02.2013
EU Contribution: 6 Mio. Euro 
Total Costs: 7.79 Mio. Euro
Funding Scheme: CP-CSA-Infra
Administrative Contact Person: Susan Anson, susan.anson@kit.edu
Project Website:


  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France
  • Fundacion Tekniker, Spain
  • Centro Ricerche Fiat SCPA, Italy
  • Philips Electronics Nederlands B.V., Netherlands 
  • IMS Nanofabrication AG, Austria
  • NPL Management limited, United Kingdom
  • Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung e.V., Germany
  • Cardiff University, United Kingdom
  • Kungliga Tekniska Hoegskolan, Sweden