Helmholtz-General Assembly 2020

The Helmholtz General Assembly will take place in 2020 in an exclusive live streaming format. Open to everyone! We take you on a very special journey on 12 October 2020 at 14:00 CEST to Berlin, Bremerhaven and Brussels.  

At the beginning we will talk to Federal Minister Anja Karliczek in Berlin about current challenges in science. Afterwards, our corona experts will report on the progress made in the development of active ingredients and vaccines. A very special highlight will be the return of our research vessel Polarstern from the spectacular arctic expedition MOSAiC to Bremerhaven, which you can experience live. Reinhold Messner will talk to a crew member about climate change and arctic experiences. Afterwards, we will travel to Brussels, where we will be joined by EU Commissioner Mariya Gabriel on the occasion of Germany's EU Council Presidency, and discuss with researchers the question of how quantum technologies could revolutionize the world. It will be exciting at the end when we award the winners of the Erwin Schrödinger Prize.

We invite you to follow this exciting program live!

On 12.10.2020 from 14:00 to 16:00 o'clock on www.helmholtz.de



Under this link you can register for the Helmholtz General Assembly: www.helmholtz.de/jt2020





In conversation
Anja Karliczek, Federal Minister for Education and Research

Otmar D. Wiestler, President of the Helmholtz Association

Helmholtz Science Talk "Global Health"

Gerald Haug, President of the Leopoldina - National Academy of Sciences

Gérard Krause, Epidemiologist, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research

Ulrike Protzer, Virologist, Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health



In conversation

Arrival of the Polarstern

Christian Haas, Geophysicist, Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research

Reinhold Messner,  frontiersman, Messner Mountain Movie

Otmar D. Wiestler, President of the Helmholtz Association




"Research for Europe"

Mariya Gabriel, EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth

Helmholtz Science Talk "Quantum Technologies"

Tommaso Calarco, quantum physicist, Forschungszentrum Jülich

Catherine Dubourdieu, Physicist, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie



Award of the Erwin Schrödinger Prize 2020

Laudation: Christine S. Falk (jury member), Hannover Medical School



You can follow the event live in German or English (subtitles).


Moderation: Tatjana Ohm, WELT / Rolf-Dieter Krause, former director ARD-Studio Brüssel

Speakers' Portraits

Gerald Haug
Ulrike Protzer
Reinhold Messner
Gérard Krause
Print Version



The largest Arctic expedition ever​​​​​​​


Your Cookie Preferences

Our website uses cookies necessary for ensuring the technical functionality and accessibility of its online services. We also employ optional cookies to learn more about how you use our website and to optimise our services accordingly. Visit our privacy policy page for more details about cookie usage. There you can change your cookie setting anytime.

I accept the use of cookies.