Assembly of Members

19 Research Centers are members of the Helmholtz Association. The scientific-technical and commercial directors of these centers meet at least once a year for an Assembly of Members. According to the statutes, the Assembly of Members is the association's central decision-making body, because its sets the framework for the development of strategies and programmes which reach across all or some of the association's centers.

In addition, the Assembly of Members has a number of additional areas of responsibility. For example, it

  • produces a proposal for the presidential election, which is then held in the Senate,
  • submits recommendations to the Senate on the division into research fields,
  • decides on the creation of networks for developing programmes  which extend across the association's centres,
  • sets the annual budget for the Helmholtz Association's Head Office, adopts the annual accounts and discharges the President and the Managind Director,
  • and decides on the acceptance of new members.

The President of the Helmholtz Association chairs the Assembly of Members. 

The Assembly of Members has established a committee whose members are the scientific representatives of the Helmholtz Centers. Here you can find more information: WTR-V


  • Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)
    Prof. Dr Antje Boetius, Director; Dr Karsten Wurr, Administrative Director
  • Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY
    Prof. Dr Helmut Dosch, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Christian Harringa, Administrative Director
  • German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)
    Prof. Dr Michael Baumann, Chairman of the Management Board and Scientific Director; Ursula Weyrich, Administrative Director
  • German Aerospace Center (DLR)
    Prof. Dr Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, Chair of the Executive Board, Klaus Hamacher, Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board
  • German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE)
    Prof. Dr Dr Pierluigi Nicotera, Scientific Director; Dr Sabine Helling-Moegen, Administrative Director
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)
    Prof. Dr Wolfgang Marquardt, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Karsten Beneke, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors
  • GEOMAR | Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel
    Prof. Dr Katja Matthes, Director; Stefan Spiekermann, Administrative Director
  • GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research
    Prof. Dr Paolo Giubellino, Scientific Director; Dr Ulrich Breuer, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI)
    Prof. Dr Dirk Heinz, Scientific Director; Silke Tannapfel, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Center for Information Security CISPA
    Prof. Dr  Michael Backes, Scientific Director, Bernd Therre, Administrative Manager
  • Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ
    Prof. Dr Georg Teutsch, Scientific Director; Dr Sabine König, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
    Prof. Dr Niels Hovius, Acting Scientific Executive Director; Dr Stefan Schwartze, Administrative Executive Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB)
    Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech, Scientific Manager; Thomas Frederking, Administrative Manager
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
    Prof. Dr. Dr. Sebastian M. Schmidt, Scientific Director; Dr. Heike Wolke, Acting Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht Centre for Materials and Coastal Research (HZG)
    Prof. Dr. Matthias Rehahn, Scientific Director; Silke Simon, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health (HMGU)
    Prof. Dr. Matthias Tschöp, Scientific and Technical Director; Kerstin Günther, Administrative Director
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
    Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka, President; Administrative Director
  • Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association (MDC)
    Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer, Acting Scientific Director; Prof. Dr. Heike Grassmann, Administrative Director
  • Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP)
    Prof. Dr. Sibylle Günter, Chairperson of the Board of Directors and Scientific Director; Dr. Josef Schweinzer, Member of the Board of Directors, Managing Director
Print Version