Helmholtz-Institut für Pharmazeutische Forschung Saarland

The increasing multi-resistance of pathogens against established anti-infectives demands novel interdisciplinary approaches to develop new pharmaceuticals for the treatment of infectious diseases. To face this challenge, the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI) in Braunschweig and Saarland University founded HIPS thus combining expertise from infection research and pharmaceutical sciences. The new alliance allows concerted and synchronous approaches to the discovery and mining of novel microorganisms producing potential drugs, their rational improvement and bioactivity profiling, as well as their optimal gromulation and eventual drug delivery.

The range of scientific activities at HIPS comprises genetic, genome-analytic and chemical methods for optimizing natural product producers and lead compounds as well as methodologies to improve the delivery of pharmaceuticals across biological barriers towards their target. HIPS is the first research facility of the Helmholtz Association that is explicitly devoted to the pharmaceutical sciences.

For more information please visit the Instituts Website

Members

Managing director: Prof. Dr. Rolf Müller, rolf.mueller(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Prof. Dr. Rolf Hartmann, rolf.hartmann(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Prof. Dr. Claus-Michael Lehr, claus-michael.lehr(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Prof. Dr. Anna Hirsch, anna.hirsch(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Dr. Andriy Luzhetskyy, andriy.luzhetskyy(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Dr. Alexander Titz, alexander.titz(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Dr. Jesko Köhnke, jesko.koehnke(at)helmholtz-hips.de

Dr. Gregor Fuhrmann, gregor.fuhrmann(at)helmholtz-hips.de

 

Involved Universities and Research Centres

Saarland University

Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research

Druck-Version

Contact

    • Prof. Dr. Rolf Müller
    • Geschäftsführender Direktor
      Helmholtz-Institut für Pharmazeutische Forschung Saarland (HIPS)
    • Birgitta Lelarge
    • Assistentin der Geschäftssführung