Research Field Energy

Global bottlenecks are predictable - in the reliable supply of energy and the safe disposal and treatment of wastes, residues and emissions. Helmholtz energy researchers are looking for solutions to meet the needs of present and future generations.

Insights into Research Field Energy

Here, we present projects currently being carried out by scientists at the Helmholtz Centres.

Securing expertise in core technologies

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

A central element of Germany’s energiewende, or energy transition, is the safe decommissioning of nuclear facilities, which poses tremendous challenges for science, technology and industry. KIT has founded the Competence Center for Decommissioning in order to maintain expertise on the decommissioning of nuclear facilities and to expand this expertise at a practical level. This Center is part of the Helmholtz programme “Nuclear Waste Management, Safety and Radiation Research” (NUSAFE).

The decommissioning of nuclear facilities encompasses innovative decommissioning technologies, the radiological characterization of contaminated plant components, decontamination and conditioning technologies, and the protection of the staff, population, and the environment against exposure to radiation. Additional important elements are the management of complex processes, analysis of political  and social conditions, and s trategies for appropriately involving and informing the public. The newly founded KIT Center is able to draw on extensive expertise and a highly effective infrastructure. Emphasis is placed on professional training and continuing education of young scientists and engineers in this fi eld over the long term. In 2008, KIT established a professorship for decommissioning of conventional and nuclear facilities – the only one of its kind in Germany. The KIT-affi liated AREVA Nuclear Professional School also offers a continuing education programme in this fi eld.

The Competence Center for Decommissioning is part of the Cluster for the Decommissioning of Nuclear Facilities established in February 2016. This Cluster pools the expertise of fi ve partners from three countries to provide a more stable foundation for professional training. Its founding members are KIT as coordinator, the Karlsruhe Cooperative State University, Stuttgart University with its Institute of Nuclear Technology and Energy Systems and its Materials Testing Institute, the Paul Scherrer Institute in Switzerland, the Institute for Transuranium Elements in Karlsruhe, and the Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements in Belgium. The latter two institutes are part of the European Commission’s Joint Research Center.


Wendelstein 7-x fusion device in operation

Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP)

On 3 February 2016, after nine years of construction, the first hydrogen plasma began to glow in the Wendelstein 7-X fusion device at the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics in Greifswald. At the push of a button, chancellor Angela Merkel caused a microwave heating pulse to transform a tiny amount of gas into an ultra-thin plasma that reached temperatures of 10 million degrees. Following the device’s launch with helium plasma in December 2015, the way is now clear for further experimentation. Wendelstein 7-X is the world’s largest stellarator and will be used to study the suitability of this type of device as a power plant.


Liquid metall cell developed on a laboratory scale

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)

A new type of battery consisting of three stably stratified liquid layers is considered a promising candidate for the large-scale stationary storage of electrical energy. It uses abundant and thus inexpensive materials and can potentially be charged and discharged as often as desired. The HZDR prototype relies on a top layer of sodium as anode, a bottom layer of bismuth as cathode, and a molten salt mixture sandwiched between them as ionic conductor. The cell needs elevated temperatures to operate, but delivers exceptionally high current densities.


New ideas for lighter and more stable rotor blades

German Aerospace Center (DLR)

How can wind plants produce electricity more efficiently in future? In the Smart Blades project, researchers from the Research Alliance for Wind Energy, cooperating with the DLR, the Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology, and the ForWind university research centre, have developed intelligent rotor blades that can adapt to natural wind conditions. One technology makes use of blades that can passively adjust to wind speed using, for example, a bend-twist coupling. Another involves mounting active control elements such as movable trailing edges on rotor blades in order to allow them to respond to different aerodynamic loads and to use the wind turbine more efficiently.


Photosynthesis for a sustainable energy supply

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ

Hydrogen could play an important role in replacing fossil fuels. UFZ scientists are now using cyanobacteria to obtain hydrogen. With the help of sunlight, these single-cell organisms can produce electricity and hydrogen from water. They usually harness sunlight for their metabolic processes in order to multiply and grow. The researchers are now working on ways to selectively shift their metabolism towards the production of hydrogen as an energy source – an approach that is more cost-effective and climate-friendly than previously tested alternatives.


New efficiency record for hydrogen produced from sunlight

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB)

In order to chemically store energy from the sun, working groups at the HZB are developing complex material systems that use sunlight to break down water into oxygen and hydrogen. In summer 2015, an international team succeeded in substantially increasing the efficiency of direct solar water splitting. For this purpose they used extremely powerful tandem solar cells and selectively modifi ed their surfaces. The new efficiency record is 14 per cent, well above the previous record of 12.4 per cent, held for 17 years.


Thermal energy storage for city districts

Helmholtz Centre Potsdam – GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences

For years a major part of the energy supply of the German Parliament in Berlin has been recovered heat and chill from the seasonal storage systems in the underground. But what about entire city districts? This is where ATES (Aquifer Thermal Energy Storage) comes in, a project run by the GFZ, Technische Universität Berlin and Universität der Künste Berlin. GFZ has completed drilling a research well in the heart of Berlin that extends down 500 metres to layers of the Earth that contain salt water called aquifers. A research facility was established to investigate options for seasonal storage of heat from cogeneration plants, solar installations and other sources. With reliable concepts for the thermal supply of urban quarters ATES will contribute to the further development of this environmental friendly technology.

Print Version

Contact

Forschungsbereich Energie

Globale Engpässe sind vorhersehbar: in der Energieversorgung, der Entsorgung von Rückständen und Emissionen. Helmholtz-Energieforscher suchen nach Lösungen, um die Bedürfnisse heutiger und künftiger Generationen zu befriedigen.

Einblicke in den Forschungsbereich Energie

Hier stellen wir Ihnen aktuelle Forschungsprojekte von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus den Helmholtz-Zentren vor.

Kompetenzerhalt Kerntechnik

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Ein Baustein für die Energiewende in Deutschland ist der sichere Rückbau der kerntechnischen Anlagen. Dies stellt große Herausforderungen an Wissenschaft, Technik und Industrie. Um das vorhandene Know-how zum Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen zu sichern und praxisbezogen zu vertiefen, hat das KIT das Kompetenzzentrum „Rückbau“ gegründet. Es ist Teil des Helmholtz-Programms Nukleare Entsorgung und Sicherheit sowie Strahlenforschung (NUSAFE).

Der Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen umfasst zum Beispiel innovative Rückbautechnologien, radiologische Charakterisierung kontaminierter Anlagenteile, Dekontaminationsund Konditionierungstechnologien, Schutz der Beschäftigten, der Bevölkerung und der Natur vor Strahlenexposition. Das Management komplexer Prozesse, Analyse der politischen und gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen sowie Strategien zur angemessenen Beteiligung und Information der Öffentlichkeit sind ebenso von Bedeutung. Das neugegründete Zentrum des KIT kann dabei auf eine umfangreiche Expertise und eine leistungsstarke Infrastruktur zurückgreifen. Ein Ziel des Projekts ist die langfristig gesicherte Ausbildung und Weiterbildung junger Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure in diesem Arbeitsfeld. Bereits 2008 wurde die Professur „Rückbau konventioneller und kerntechnischer Bauwerke“ eingerichtet, die es in dieser Form in Deutschland nur am KIT gibt. Die ebenfalls an das KIT angebundene AREVA Nuclear Professional School bietet ein Weiterbildungsprogramm zum Thema an.

Das Kompetenzzentrum Rückbau ist Teil des Clusters „Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen“, der im Februar 2016 gestartet ist. Mit dem Cluster werden die Kompetenzen von fünf Partnern aus drei Ländern gebündelt und die Fachkräfteausbildung gestärkt. Gründungsmitglieder sind das KIT als Koordinator, die Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg mit dem Standort Karlsruhe, die Universität Stuttgart mit dem Institut für Kernenergetik und Energiesysteme sowie der Materialprüfungsanstalt Stuttgart, das Paul Scherrer Institut in der Schweiz sowie das Institut für Transurane in Karlsruhe und das Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements in Belgien, die beide Teil der Gemeinsamen Forschungsstelle der Europäischen Kommission sind.


Fusionsanlage Wendelstein 7-X in Betrieb

Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP)

Nach neun Jahren Bauzeit leuchtete am 3. Februar 2016 in der Fusionsanlage Wendelstein 7-X im Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik in Greifswald das erste Wasserstoff-Plasma. Ein Puls der Mikrowellenheizung verwandelte auf Knopfdruck von Kanzlerin Angela Merkel eine winzige Menge Gas in ein ultradünnes, zehn Millionen Grad heißes Plasma. Damit haben – nach dem Start mit einem Helium- Plasma im Dezember 2015 – die Experimente begonnen. Wendelstein 7-X, der weltweit größte Stellarator, soll die Kraftwerkseignung dieses Anlagentyps untersuchen.


Flüssigmetall-Zelle im Labormassstab entwickelt

Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)

Eine neuartige Batterie, die aus einer stabilen Schichtung zweier Flüssigmetalle und einer dazwischenliegenden Salzschmelze besteht, gilt als aussichtsreicher Kandidat für stationäre Großspeicher von Elektroenergie. Der Grund: Sie ist kostengünstig und lässt sich beliebig oft auf- und entladen. HZDR-Forscher haben einen Prototyp entwickelt, der mit Natrium als Anode und Bismut als Kathode arbeitet. Die Zelle liefert bei einer Betriebstemperatur von 400 Grad Celsius einen Strom von einem Ampere, was einer hohen Stromdichte (mehr als 20 kA/m2) entspricht.


Neue Ideen, um Rotorblätter stabiler und leichter werden zu lassen

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Wie können Windenergieanlagen Strom in Zukunft effizienter produzieren? Im Projekt SmartBlades entwickelten und prüften Forscher des Forschungsverbunds Windenergie mit dem DLR, dem Fraunhofer IWES und dem Hochschulverbund ForWind intelligente Rotorblätter, die sich dem Wind anpassen können. Ergebnis sind zum einen Rotorblätter, die sich beispielsweise durch eine Biege-Torsions-Kopplung passiv an die Windstärke anpassen können. Zum anderen wurden aktive Steuerelemente wie bewegliche Hinterkanten eines Rotorblatts angebracht. So lässt sich auf unterschiedliche aerodynamische Belastungen reagieren und die Windenergieanlagen können besser ausgenutzt werden.


Photosyntese für eine nachhaltige Energieversorgung

Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung – UFZ

Wasserstoff könnte bei der vollständigen Ablösung fossiler Energieträger eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Um Wasserstoff zu gewinnen, setzen UFZ-Wissenschaftler auf Cyanobakterien. Mithilfe des Sonnenlichts können die Einzeller aus Wasser Strom und Wasserstoff erzeugen. Normalerweise nutzen sie Sonnenlicht für den Stoffwechsel, um sich zu vermehren und zu wachsen. Die Forscher arbeiten daran, den Stoffwechsel gezielt zugunsten der Erzeugung von Wasserstoff als Energieträger zu verschieben. Ein Ansatz, der klimafreundlicher und wirtschaftlicher ist als bisher erprobte Alternativen.


Neuer Weltrekord-Wirkungsgrad für Wasserstoff aus Sonnenlicht

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB)

Um die Energie der Sonne chemisch zu speichern, entwickeln Arbeitsgruppen am HZB komplexe Materialsysteme, die mit Sonnenlicht Wasser in Sauerstoff und Wasserstoff zerlegen. Einem internationalen Team ist es im Sommer 2015 gelungen, den Wirkungsgrad für die direkte solare Wasserspaltung deutlich zu steigern. Sie nutzten dafür extrem leistungsstarke Tandem-Solarzellen und modifizierten gezielt ihre Oberflächen. Der neue Bestwert liegt bei 14 Prozent und damit deutlich über dem bisherigen Rekordwert von 12,4 Prozent. Ein Rekord, der zuvor 17 Jahre Bestand hatte.


Wärmespeicher für Stadtviertel

Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam – Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum GFZ

Die Energieversorgung der Parlamentsgebäude in Berlin erfolgt seit Jahren durch Wärmespeicherung im Untergrund. Was aber, wenn es um ganze Stadtquartiere geht? Hier setzt das Projekt ATES (Aquifer Thermal Energy Storage) des GFZ, der TU Berlin und der Universität der Künste an. Mitten in Berlin hat das GFZ eine Forschungsbohrung begonnen, die 500 Meter tief reichen soll. Dort gibt es Schichten, die Salzwasser führen. Für die Quartiersversorgung würde im Sommer Wärme, beispielsweise aus Blockheizkraftwerken oder Solarthermie, nach unten gepumpt und im Winter genutzt.

Druck-Version

Kontakt