Fusion energy materials science coordination action

Activity Code: Fusion-2007-7.2
Coordinator: Dr Christian Linsmeier, Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics


The timely availability of qualified materials for use in fusion power reactors is a necessity for the fast deployment of fusion power. 27 European institutions have joined together in the FEMaS-CA to advance fusion materials science in Europe and in close cooperation with EFDA, the European Fusion Development Agreement.

The overarching objective of this Coordination Action is: The FEMaS-CA will create a European research environment in which fusion materials science for the realization of fusion power can be carried out with optimum effect.

To enforce this objective, the goals of the project are:

  • It will strengthen the application of advanced materials characterization methods which is an essential ingredient for the successful development of fusion reactor materials in Europe.
  • It will form a strong European network involving institutions and large scale facilities outside of the present fusion programme
  • Within this network bi- and multilateral collaborative activities shall be carried out.
  • Together with EFDA activities it will contribute to the formation of lasting and efficient European structure for fusion materials science and development.


Project Details:

Start Date: 01.10.2008
End Date: 30.09.2011
EU Contribution: 2.1 Mio. Euro
Total Costs: 3.25 Mio. Euro
Funding Scheme: Coordination (or networking) actions
Administrative Contact Person: Elmar Neitzert, elmar.neitzert(at)ipp.mpg.de
Scientific Coordinator:
Dr Christian Linsmeier, linsmeier(at)ipp.mpg.de
Project Website:


  • Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Germany
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie, Germany
  • Nuclear Research and Consultancy Group, Netherlands
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
  • Institutul National de Cercetare-Dezvoltare pentru Fizica Laserilor, Plasmei si Radiatiei, Romania
  • Universidad del Pais Vasco/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea, Spain
  • The Chancellor, Masters and Scholars of the University of Oxford, UK
  • Loughborough University, United Kingdom
  • Magyar Tudományos Akadémia KFKI Atomenergia Kutatóintézet, Hungary
  • Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Austria
  • Institutp Tecnologico e Nuclear, Portugal
  • Studiecentrum voor Kernenergie, Belgium
  • Politechnika Warszawska, Poland
  • Valtion Teknillinen Tutkimuskeskus, Finland
  • Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
  • Politecnicom di Torino, Italy
  • Universidad de Alicante, Spain
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique (CEA), France
  • Kungliga Tekniska Hoegskolan, Sweden
  • Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark
  • Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • National Center for Scientifique Research "Demokritos", Greece
  • Centro de Investigaciones Energeticas Medioambientales y Tecnologicas (CIEMAT), Spain
  • Installation Europeenne de Rayonnement Synchrotron, France
  • Scuola Universitaria Professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI), Switzerland
  • Technische Universität München, Germany
Print Version