Helmholtz Career Development Centers for Researchers

The Helmholtz Association strongly promotes systematic career support and guidance. Particularly right after completing a doctorate, important decisions have to be made about future career paths. Since 2017, the Helmholtz Association has supported the creation and expansion of career development units within Helmholtz Research Centers. With these Helmholtz Career Development Centers for Researchers, the Helmholtz Association actively promotes the successful professional development of the Centers’ employees as well as their preparation for a future career outside of the Centers.

The Career Centers are to become key resources for career advice and development, especially for post-doctorate researchers. Their work follows high-quality standards, for example regarding the qualifications of the career advisors working at the Centers, the systematic needs assessments carried out in planning these Centers, as well as the analysis of results and effects. We promote the development of unified quality standards by facilitating exchange and networking across the different Career Centers operating within the Helmholtz Association.

As of 2018, the first three Career Centers are in development at Forschungszentrum Jülich, the German Cancer Research Center, and the Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health. In the winter of 2018/19, another five Career Centers at the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB), the Helmholtz-Center for Environmental Research - UFZ, the Helmholtz-Center Potsdam - GFZ, German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), and the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association (MDC) started their work. 2019 another six Career Centers were selected and have started their work at GEOMAR, Deutsches Zentrum für  Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen (DZNE), Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) and Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP).

Print Version


  • Photo of Mona Florian