Prof. Dr Konrad Samwer

Professor Dr. Konrad Samwer is senator of the Helmholtz Association for the research field “Key Technologies”. He is professor of physics at the University of Göttingen.
Konrad Samwer studied physics at Göttingen and Bonn universities, and gained his doctorate at the University of Göttingen’s Institute of Physics in 1981. He habilitated there in 1987 and received his venia legendi. In 1989, he accepted a C4 professorship in the field of experimental physics at Augburg University’s Institute of Physics, and moved to his present C4 professorship in physics at Göttingen University in 1999.

Over the years, Konrad Samwer has been a member of various advisory committees at universities and other organisations. For example, he headed the advisory board of the German Society for Materials Science (DGM) from 1992 to 1996, and was a member of Augburg University’s senate from 1994 to 1996. From 1996 to 2001 he was a member of the DFG’s Heisenberg Committee and from 1997 to 2007 he held the position of deputy chairman of the advisory committee of the Max Planck Institute for Metals Research. From 2003 to 2007 Samwer was a member of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s Selection Committee, and from 2007 to 2013 on the DFG’s Grants Committee on Collaborative Research Centres. He was vice-president of the DFG from 2007 to 2013, and has been a board member of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (German Physical Society) since 2007, and a member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in Halle since 2008. He also belongs to the scientific committee Bayer Climate Award of the Bayer AG.

Konrad Samwer was awarded the DFG’s Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize in 1983 and, in 2003, the Honda Kotaro Memorial Prize given by the Tohoku University in Sendai, Japan, for significant contributions to education and research at the university through academic exchange. In 2004, he received the DFG’s Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, and, in 2008, the Senior Scientist Award bestowed by the International Symposium on Metastable, Amorphous and Nanostructured Materials (ISMANAM) for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of Amorphous and Nanostructured Materials.

Print Version