Prof. Dr. Joël Francois Mesot

Professor Dr. Joël Francois Mesot is a member of the Helmholtz Association’s senate for the research field "Matter" and president of the ETH Zurich, Switzerland.

He studied physics at the ETH Zurich, where he received his PhD in solid state research in 1992. During his graduate studies, he spent two years at the Institute Laue Langevin (ILL/France). Between 1992 and 1997, he worked as a research associate at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI), where he designed and helped building the time-of-flight spectrometer FOCUS. He then joined the Argonne National Laboratory (USA), where he performed experiments in the field of material research at various synchrotron facilities.

For his work on high-temperature superconductors he was awarded the Swiss Physical Society’s IBM prize in 1995 and the ETH Zurich’s Latsis Prize in 2002. In 2000, he took over the spectroscopy group at the Laboratory for Neutron Scattering (LNS) of the ETH Zurich and PSI, and became head of the LNS in 2004. From 2003 to 2005, he chaired the ILL’s scientific commitee “Structural and Magnetic Excitations” and was editor of journal Neutron News from 2003 to 2008.

Mesot was appointed assistant professor at the ETH Zurich in 2007 and headed the research commission of the PSI. A year later, he became the first full professor jointly appointed by ETH Zurich and EPF Lausanne. From 2008 to 2018 he was director of the Paul Scherrer Institute before he took up his post as president of the ETH Zurich in January 2019.

In 2009, Joël Mesot chaired the review panel for the Helmholtz programme “Research with Photons, Neutrons, and Ions”. From 2011 until his nomination as member of the Helmholtz senate in 2015, he was permanent member of the senate commission for the research field „Matter“.

On July 1, 2010, he became a member of the ETH council. In addition, Mesot is a member of the International Science Policy Committee of the Russian NRC Kurсhatov Institutе, and the Neutron Advisory Board of Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA. Furthermore, he is a board member of the European Association of National Research Facilities, second vice-president of the Marcel Benoist Foundation Council and council member of the Foundation Technopark Aargau.

Print Version