Helmholtz Association
Der neue WhatsApp-Newsletter!

Executive Committee

The executive committee of the Helmholtz Association includes eight vice-presidents in addition to the President and the Managing Director. The vice-presidents support, advise and represent the president in the fulfilment of his duties, which include implementing the programme-oriented funding system and coordinating the development of programmes across research fields and developing the Association's overall strategy. Each of the Helmholtz Association's six research fields is represented by a vice-president who is responsible for its coordination; in addition, there are two vice-presidents from the centres' administrative bodies.

Members of the Executive Committee

Portraits des Präsidenten der HELMHOLTZ GEMEINSCHAFT Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Otmar D. Wiestler für die HELMHOLTZ GEMEINSCHAFT für PR-ZWECKE am 26.08.2015 in Berlin

Prof. Dr. Otmar D. Wiestler

President Helmholtz Association

Phone: +49 30 206329-52
Fax: +49 30 206329-59
praesident (at) helmholtz.de

Holger Hanselka 100x100

Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka

Vice-President Research Field Energy

President Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Phone: +49 721 608-22000
holger.hanselka (at) kit.edu

Herzig 100x100

Prof. Dr. Peter M. Herzig

Vice-President Research Field Earth and Environment

Director, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Phone: +49 431 600-2800
Fax: +49 431 600-2805

Guenther Wess 100x100

Prof. Dr. Günther Wess

Vice-President Research Field Health

Scientific Director of Helmholtz Zentrum München

Phone: +49 89 3187-4409
Fax: +49 89 3187-3372
inaumann (at) helmholtz-muenchen.de

Pascale Ehrenfreund 100x100

Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund

Vice-President Research Field Aeronautics, Space and Transport

Chair of the Executive Committee of the German Aerospace Center (DLR), Cologne

Phone: +49 2203 601-4201
Fax: +49 2203 64190
pascale.ehrenfreund (at) dlr.de

Marquardt Wolfgang 100x100 Juli2014 02

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt

Vice-President Research Field Key Technologies

Chairman of the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich

Phone: +49 2461 61-3000
Fax: +49 2461 61-2525
w.marquardt (at) fz-juelich.de

Prof. Helmut Dosch. Image: DESY

Prof. Dr. Helmut Dosch

Vice-President Research Field Matter

Chairman of the Board of Directors Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron DESY

Phone: +49 40 8998 2408
Fax: +49 40 8998 4304
angelika.lorenzen (at) desy.de

Karsten Beneke. Image: FZJ

Karsten Beneke

Administrative Vice-President

Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors Forschungszentrum Jülich

Phone: +49 2461 61-2001
Fax: +49 2461 61-2002
r.hausmann (at) fz-juelich.de

Weyrich Ursula 100x100

Ursula Weyrich

Administrative Vice-President

Adminstrative Director,
GSI Helmholtz Center for Heavy Ion Research

Phone: +49 6159 71-1947
Fax: +49 6159 71-2905

Zettl Rolf 100x100

Dr. Rolf Zettl

Managing Director Helmholtz Association

Phone: +49 30 206329-28
Fax: +49 30 206329-70
rolf.zettl (at) helmholtz.de



Heck Eva Maria 100x100

Eva Maria Heck

Head Boards and Committees

Helmholtz Association

Bonn Office
Ahrstraße 45
53175 Bonn

Phone: +49 228 30818-13
Fax: +49 228 30818-30
eva.maria.heck (at) helmholtz.de