Helmholtz Association
Der neue WhatsApp-Newsletter!

Assembly of Members

18 Research Centres are members of the Helmholtz Association. The scientific-technical and commercial directors of these centres meet at least once a year for an Assembly of Members. According to the statutes, the Assembly of Members is the association's central decision-making body, because its sets the framework for the development of strategies and programmes which reach across all or some of the association's centres.

In addition, the Assembly of Members has a number of additional areas of responsibility. For example, it

  • produces a proposal for the presidential election, which is then held in the Senate,
  • submits recommendations to the Senate on the division into research fields,
  • elects the coordinators responsible for the research fields,
  • decides on the creation of networks for developing programmes  which extend across the association's centres,
  • sets the annual budget for the Helmholtz Association's Head Office, adopts the annual accounts and discharges the President,
  • and decides on the acceptance of new members.

The President of the Helmholtz Association chairs the Assembly of Members. 

The Assembly of Members has established a committee whose members are the scientific representatives of the Helmholtz Centres. Here you can find more information: WTR-V


  • Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)
    Prof. Dr Karin Lochte, Director; Dr Karsten Wurr, Administrative Director
  • Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY
    Prof. Dr Helmut Dosch, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Christian Scherf, Director in charge of Administration
  • German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)
    Prof. Dr Michael Boutros, Interim Chairman of the Management Board and Scientific Director; Prof. Dr Josef Puchta, Administrative-Commercial Director
  • German Aerospace Center (DLR)
    Prof. Dr Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the Executive Board, Klaus Hamacher, Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board
  • German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE)
    Prof. Dr Dr Pierluigi Nicotera, Scientific Director; Dr Sabine Helling-Moegen, Administrative Director
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)
    Prof. Dr-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Karsten Beneke, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors
  • GEOMAR | Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel
    Prof. Dr Peter M. Herzig, Director; Michael Wagner, Administrative Director
  • GSI Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research
    Prof. Dr Karlheinz Langanke, Scientific Director ad interim; Ursula Weyrich, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI)
    Prof. Dr Dirk Heinz, Scientific Director; Franziska Broer, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ
    Prof. Dr Georg Teutsch, Scientific Director; Dr Heike Grassmann, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Centre Potsdam GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
    Prof. Dr Reinhard F. J. Hüttl, Scientific Executive Director; Dr Stefan Schwartze, Administrative Executive Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB)
    Prof. Dr Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, Scientific Director and Spokesperson of the Board of Directors; Thomas Frederking, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR)
    Prof. Dr Roland Sauerbrey, Scientific Director; Prof. Dr Peter Joehnk, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht Centre for Materials and Coastal Research (HZG)
    Prof. Dr Wolfgang Kaysser, Scientific Director; Michael Ganß, Administrative Director
  • Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health (HMGU)
    Prof. Dr Günther Wess, Scientific and Technical Director; Dr Nikolaus Blum, Administrative Director
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
    Prof. Dr Holger Hanselka, President; Administrative Director
  • Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association
    Prof. Dr Thomas Sommer, Interim Scientific Director and Chairman of the Foundation Board; Dr Heike Wolke, Administrative Director
  • Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP)
    Prof. Dr Sibylle Günter, Chairperson of the Board of Directors and Scientific Director; Dr Josef Schweinzer, Member of the Board of Directors, Managing Director


Heck Eva Maria 100x100

Eva Maria Heck

Head Boards and Committees

Helmholtz Association

Bonn Office
Ahrstraße 45
53175 Bonn

Phone: +49 228 30818-13
Fax: +49 228 30818-30
eva.maria.heck (at) helmholtz.de